Five further countries join EMA-FDA mutual recognition pact

By Ben Hargreaves contact

- Last updated on GMT

(Image: Getty/Lukbar)
(Image: Getty/Lukbar)

Related tags: Fda, Ema, Japan, Mutual recognition

Inspections of manufacturing facilities undertaken by Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Latvia and Estonia will be recognised as valid by the US FDA.

The mutual recognition agreement between the European Medicines Agency (EMA) and the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) sees good manufacturing practice (GMP) inspections performed by European countries deemed comparable to those undertaken by the latter agency.

The total number of accredited European countries now stands at 20, with plans for all European Union (EU) member states to be added to the agreement by July 2019.

As part of the statement, the EMA outlined the benefits of the transatlantic agreement:

  • The ability to focus inspection resources on other parts of the world where active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) and medicines for the EU or US markets are manufactured
  • Prioritising inspections of medicines manufacturing sites for higher risk cases
  • Reassuring patients that they can rely on the quality, safety and efficacy of all medicines, no matter where they have been manufactured
  • Improving the ability to identify and address potential problems at manufacturing sites before they become a public health risk
  • Reducing the administrative burden and costs from duplicative inspections for pharmaceutical manufacturers, including smaller producers 

The move for greater global regulatory harmonisation has also seen the EU foster stronger ties with Japan.

In July, an existing mutual recognition agreement between the regions was expanded​ to cover APIs, sterile medicines and biologic medicines. As a result, inspection of the products is no longer needed on their arrival in either the EU or Japan.

Related news

Show more

Related products

show more

Vaccine Innovation in the Era of COVID19

Vaccine Innovation in the Era of COVID19

Covance Patient Safety | 01-Oct-2020 | Sponsored Link

During this time of worldwide crisis, there is an increasing demand for the acceleration of a vaccination for COVID19. Regardless of the great recent advancements...

Lactium, your ally to manage day to day stress

Lactium, your ally to manage day to day stress

Ingredia | 27-Aug-2020 | Product Presentation

Stress has been called the ‘health epidemic of the 21st century’ by the World Health Organization. Increasingly, consumers are looking for safe, reliable...

The Effect of Tamping Force on Bi-Layer Tablets

The Effect of Tamping Force on Bi-Layer Tablets

JRS PHARMA | 15-Aug-2020 | Technical / White Paper

Formulation of bi-layer or multi-layer tablets enables the combination of two or more drugs that may be incompatible or maybe intended for delivery at...

Related suppliers

Follow us


View more